九龍飛剪

By 何兆南

分享

香港半島酒店

1936年首架由美國越洋的長途民航客機 Philippine Clipper (水上飛機) 降落在維多利亞港上,半島酒店成為旅客抵港登陸的地點。其後1937年正式開通由香港到三藩市的航線,當中兩台水上飛機曾命名為Hong Kong Clipper,成為香港航空業的一個標誌。相比當時的船運是30天,飛行航程只需要九天,已經大大縮短了旅行的距離。其後半島酒店成為當時各大航空公司的登機點,招待遠赴重洋旅客,成為香港逐步發展的重要一員。

藝術家對水上飛機的奇想,奇想一次在2018年在維港重現這個越洋航班”Kowloon Clipper”,旅客在半島酒店出發,登上水上飛機飛到世界各地。所以在豐有歷史的半島酒店門外,以幽默的方式,利用旅客們熟悉的文字,豎立一個注目的發光裝置 “Boarding 登機中” 或 “Final Call 最後召集”,引發觀眾的好奇和開拓想像力外,更重新說回半島酒店作為歷史建築的香港故事。

何兆南

何兆南2006年於香港理工大學社會工作高級文憑課程畢業,及後曾為多本雜誌擔任編輯及攝影師。現專注攝影,酷愛黑白照,偶爾寫作,喜歡發掘各類寫實的攝影題材,表達自我存在的觀點。
2007年開始參與攝影展覽,於2008參與香港大型攝影展覽《影像香港–當代攝影展》。2009 年,其攝影作品系列「光之道」獲得「香港當代藝術雙年獎2009」年度獎,並獲The Burger Collection、香港文化博物館及日本清里攝影藝術館收藏。 2008年,其個人工作室成立; 2013年,創辦了「百呎公園」,一個提供展覽及促進藝術交流的非牟利藝術空間。

日期
23-25 / 11 / 2017
展出場地
地址

Related Artworks

2017
Laurent Gutierrez and Valérie Portefaix

藝術家期望運用光影裝置,讓人們尋回都市中遺失許久、與大自然的聯繫。

23-25 / 11 / 2017 10:00-23:00 TC
都爹利街石階及煤氣街燈
2017
何兆南

1936年首架由美國越洋的長途民航客機 Philippine Clipper(水上飛機)降落在維多利亞港上,半島酒店成為旅客抵港登陸的地點。

23-25 / 11 / 2017 10:00-23:00
香港半島酒店
2017
Christie

參與科視Christie Digital在「光影香港」提供的LUX體驗,一嘗創作獨一無二的光效藝術!

23-25 / 11 / 2017 10:00-23:00
香港文華東方酒店
x
Login

OR

x
Sign up

OR

Sign up with Email
x
1 Registration
2 One Step Closer

Kowloon Clipper

By South Ho

Share

The Peninsula Hotel, Hong Kong

In 1936, the first cross-Pacific passengers’ flight Philippine Clipper (seaplane) landed in Victoria Harbour, The Peninsula Hong Kong was the arrival destination. The official route from Hong Kong to San Francisco was in use in 1937, two of which were named Hong Kong Clipper, which became a symbol of the Hong Kong aviation industry. Compared to the 30 days sea journey, it only took nine days by air, which has greatly reduced the travel time. The Peninsula Hong Kong then became the boarding destination for many major airlines, acting as an important element of the development of Hong Kong.

The artist fantasises about the reappearance of a seaplane named “Kowloon Clipper” in Victoria Harbour in the year 2018 – passengers board the seaplane in The Peninsula Hong Kong and fly around the world. Artist would like to erect an illuminate installation using familiar texts like “boarding ” or “Final Call” outside The Peninsula Hong Kong, to arouse the audience’s curiosity and imagination of the hotel as a historical building as well as a fascinating Hong Kong tale, in a humorous way.

South Ho

After completing his Higher Diploma course in Social Work from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 2006, South Ho has worked for various magazines as editor and photographer. He now focuses on photography, black and white in particular, and gets himself involved in a little bit of writing as well. He loves discovering various photographic subjects from society in order to express his viewpoints on existence.
South Ho has been actively participating in various photography exhibitions since 2007.

In 2008, he took part in the “Imaging Hong Kong Contemporary Photography Exhibition”, a major photography exhibition in Hong Kong. His photographic series “Into Light” was later on awarded in the “Hong Kong Contemporary Art Biennial Awards 2009” and was adopted as a collection by The Burger Collection, Hong Kong Heritage Museum and the Kiyosato Museum of Photographic Arts in Japan. In 2008, South Ho established his personal studio. In 2013, he co-founded 100 ft. PARK, a non-commercial art space dedicated to providing an open platform for exhibiting and sharing art.

Date
23-25 Nov, 2017
Venue
Address

Related Artworks

2017
By Laurent Gutierrez and Valérie Portefaix

This ephemeral installation aims to re-introduce a lost relationship between human and nature in the city.

23-25 Nov, 2017 10:00-23:00
Duddell Street Staircase
2017
By South Ho

The first cross-Pacific passengers flight Philippine Clipper (seaplane) landed in Victoria Harbour

23-25 Nov, 2017 10:00-23:00
Peninsula Hotel
2017
By Christie

With LUX Experience visitors have the opportunity to collaborate in making a work of light-art.

23-25 Nov, 2017 10:00-23:00
Mandarin Oriental
x
Login

OR

x
Sign up

OR

Sign up with Email
x
1 Registration
2 One Step Closer